Neal Morse details rock opera album

From Loudersound.

Neal Morse has revealed that he’ll release his rock opera album Jesus Christ: The Exorcist this summer.

Morse revealed he was working on the double album in September last year and that he would be joined on the record by his former Spock’s Beard bandmate Nick D’Virgilio, current Spock’s Beard frontman Ted Leonard, Eric Gillette, Randy George, Bill Hubauer and Matt Smith.

Jesus Christ: The Exorcist will launch on June 14 via Frontiers Music srl on 2CD, 3LP and on digital and streaming platforms.

Morse says on the album’s sound: “It’s completely diverse. There are touching ballads, rousing ensemble pieces, classical elements and dramatic Broadway musical type songs as well.

“It’s really meant to be listened and experienced all the way through as you would a play or an opera. I hope that people will experience it in that way because I think that’s where they will really find the power in it.

“These songs and pieces of music were all written specifically for this project. I wrote the first draft in 2008 and 2009, I believe. Then, last year in preparation for a performance at MorseFest I rewrote the whole musical again.

Continue reading here.

Neal Morse: Jesus Christ: The Exorcist

1. Introduction
2. Overture
3. Getaway
4. Gather The People
5. Jesus’ Baptism
6. Jesus’ Temptation
7. There’s A Highway
8. The Woman Of Seven Devils
9. Free At Last
10. The Madman Of The Gadarenes
11. Love Has Called My Name
12. Better Weather
13. The Keys To The Kingdom
14. Get Behind Me Satan

1. He Must Go To The Cross
2. Jerusalem
3. Hearts Full Of Holes
4. The Last Supper
5. Gethsemane
6. Jesus Before The Council And Peter’s Denial
7. Judas’ Death
8. Jesus Before Pilate And The Crucifixion
9. Mary At The Tomb
10. The Greatest Love Of All
11. Love Has Called My Name (Reprise)

Explore… the world’s best online store for rare, collectable and out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

  • Transatlantic - Kaleidoscope - Lenticular - German - cd album box set - £50.00, $61.00, €55.50 (New Item) (arrived 25-Jun-2019 10:59)
    on November 22, 2019 at 6:43 pm

    TRANSATLANTIC Kaleidoscope (2014 German Limited Deluxe Artbook Edition 2-CD/2-DVD set, the fourth studio album from the progressive rock supergroup consisting of Roine Stolt of The Flower Kings, Pete Trewavas of Marillion, Mike Portnoy formerly of Dream Theater and Neal Morse formerly of Spock's Beard. Comprising the 5-track disc, 8-track bonus disc featuring cover songs and bonus 1½ hour long DVD featuring behind the scenes footage and more, and an extra disc featuring the 5.1 surround sound mix of the album, housed in a Lenticular hard card-cover artbook with lyrics and sleeve notes, along with a record company advertising insert. Although not sealed, this example remains in a 'near as new' condition)

  • Neal Morse - Morsefest! 2017: Testimony Of A Dream - US - cd album box set - £50.00, $61.00, €55.50 (New Item) (arrived 25-Jun-2019 10:45)
    on November 22, 2019 at 6:43 pm

    THE NEAL MORSE BAND Morsefest! 2017: Testimony Of A Dream (2018 US Limited Deluxe Artbook Set, includes 2 DVDs, 4 CDs and 2 Blu-ray, over five hours of material recorded at the annual event Morsefest, held at the New Life Fellowship in Cross Plains, Tennessee, during 1st & 2nd September 2017, the band was augmented with live strings, a horn section, orchestral percussion, dancers, female background singers and a full choir. The 50-page harback artbook features never-before seen photographs, with the disc's held housed at the front & back, also includes five postcards, an exclusive poster and an individually numbered certificate of authenticity. Although not sealed, this example remains in a 'near as new' condition)***Limited to only 2000 copies***

Sign up for Record Collecting News

* = required field

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply