R.E.M. announce 40th anniversary reissue of debut single ‘Radio Free Europe’

From the NME.

R.E.M. have announced the reissue of their debut single ‘Radio Free Europe’ to mark 40 years since the track’s initial release.

The 1983 version of the track is already well-known among the band’s fans, but this reissue will allow fans to experience the original 1981 recording when it arrives on July 23.

One of R.E.M.’s earliest recordings, ‘Radio Free Europe’ was first recorded in the garage of influential producer Mitch Easter, who produced the bulk of the band’s formative material.

Now set for release via Craft Recordings, the reissue will be presented in its original format as a 45-RPM single, housed in a jacket featuring photography by Michael Stipe.

(Picture: Press)
(Picture: Press)
In an nod to the band’s hometown, the single was also pressed in Athens, GA at Kindercore Vinyl.

The ‘Cassette Set’ tape, which is also arriving on July 23, will replicate the original packaging assembled by the band using photocopied cards and handwritten cassette labels by frontman Michael Stipe.

Additionally, the official R.E.M. store will be offering a custom, limited edition portable cassette player (limited to just 500 worldwide), produced by Recording the Masters.

‘Radio Free Europe (Original Hib-Tone Single)’ tracklist:

Side A

  1. ‘Radio Free Europe’

Side B

  1. ‘Sitting Still’

‘Cassette Set (1981 demo tape)’ tracklist: 

1. ‘Sitting Still (fast “Polka” version, snippet)’
2. ‘Sitting Still’
3. ‘Radio Free Europe’
4. ‘White Tornado’
5. ‘White Tornado (take 2, aborted)’

Explore eil.com & 991.com sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

  • REM - Out Of Time - EX - UK - vinyl LP - £35.00, $43.75, €41.30 (New Item) (arrived 17-May-2022 10:38)
    on May 18, 2022 at 6:04 pm

    REM Out Of Time (Classic 1991 UK 11-track LP, pressed in Germany for the UK market, including Losing My Religion, Shiny Happy People & Near Wild Heaven, picture sleeve with illustrated credits inner. The sleeve shows some minor shelf wear & the vinyl remains in Excellent condition with few light surface scuffs & signs of play WX404)

  • REM - R.E.M. At The BBC - UK - cd album box set - £44.99, $56.24, €53.09 (New Item) (arrived 14-Feb-2022 11:02)
    on May 18, 2022 at 6:04 pm

    REM R.E.M. At The BBC (2018 UK Limited Edition NINE-DISC [8CD/1DVD] Set comprising a compendium of live radio, TV & In-Studio performances from the BBC Archives, including Radio 1 Peel Sessions and Live Lounge performances as well as live broadcasts from Nottingham Rock City, Milton Keynes' National Bowl and Glastonbury's Pyramid Stage in 1999 plus a Region 0 NTSC DVD containing the hour long BBC documentary 'Accelerating Backwards', a complete Later...With Jools Holland performance and much more. The two-part 5.5" x 5.5" x 2" picture box has a small area of paper loss to the back and the front is displaying the hype-sticker [which has been removed from its original shrink and shows a little wear] however, all eight discs look barely played in their individual card wallet picture sleeve and comes complete with the 64-page book containing liner notes, photos, tracklists and credits!)

  • REM - In View - The Best Of R.E.M. 1988-2003 - UK - DVD - £14.99, $18.74, €17.69 (New Item) (arrived 09-Feb-2022 14:43)
    on May 18, 2022 at 6:04 pm

    REM In View - The Best Of R.E.M. 1988-2003 (2003 UK Region 2 PAL DVD comprising of 16 Music Videos [with Optional Interview Footage] including the hits Bad Day, Imitation Of Life, What's The Frequency Kenneth?, Everybody Hurts, Man On The Moon& Losing My Religion and 6 Bonus Videos plus 3 tracks performed Live in London's Trafalgar Square. The disc is UNPLAYED housed in the sealed DVD casing)

  • REM - Murmur: Deluxe Edition - US - 2-CD album set - £19.99, $24.99, €23.59 (New Item) (arrived 09-Feb-2022 14:59)
    on May 18, 2022 at 6:04 pm

    REM Murmur (2008 US Deluxe 25th Anniversary Edition double CD reissue of their 1983 debut album comprising the 12-track CD featuring the single Radio Free Europe and comes expanded with a bonus 16-track CD including a previously unreleased live performance recorded at Larry's Hideaway in Toronto, Canada on 9th July 1983. The fold-out digipak picture sleeve displays the gold hype-sticker on the front which has some wear to it but comes with the picture booklet and its clear PVC 'DeluxeEdition' slipcase with the two discs look barely played)

  • REM - Fables Of The Reconstruction - US - 2-CD album set - £49.99, $62.49, €58.99 (New Item) (arrived 09-Feb-2022 15:08)
    on May 18, 2022 at 6:04 pm

    REM Fables Of The Reconstruction (2010 US Deluxe 25th Anniversary Edition double CD issue of their 1985 third studio release comprising of the 11-track digitally remastered CD featuring the singles Cant Get There From Here, Driver 8 and Wendell Gee plus a Bonus 14-track CD including demo versions of the album and previously unreleased tracks. The two discs look barely played in their individual card wallet picture sleeves housed in the clamshell picture box which shows a little shelfwear to the edges and a small deletion mark to the barcode but comes complete with a 24" x 36" poster, four postcards and a picture booklet containing extensive sleevenotes written by Peter Buck!)

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!