The Darkness set to release first live album

From Planet Rock.

The flamboyant rockers’ 19-track live record features songs from all five of their studio albums and it was recorded at their triumphant London Eventim Hammersmith Apollo gig in December 2017.

Released on CD, gatefold double vinyl and digitally on Friday 15th June via Cooking Vinyl, ‘The Darkness – Live At Hammersmith’ captures the spandex-wearing band at their imperious best complete with monumental riffs and life-affirming falsettos.

The Darkness join a hallowed group of artists who have released Hammersmith live albums including Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Bruce Springsteen, Jethro Tull and Whitesnake.

Commenting on the release, the ever-eloquent Justin Hawkins says: “The Darkness is untamed. It cannot be caged. Some very clever recording engineers have discovered a way to capture its essence; all that remains is for us to release it back into the wild.

“Life is about experiences, not possessions. This is your opportunity to possess the experience of The Darkness Live, as perceived by your ears, leaving your eyes free to scan the road ahead for obstacles, or to watch Emmerdale with the sound off, or to mould clay, or to darn socks, or to look at the beautiful artwork in this magnificent gatefold. Release yourself into The Darkness – Live at Hammersmith.”

Sadly, contrary to the album artwork, the band weren’t joined on the sacrosanct stage by eagles, a tiger or a llama, however, musically it perfectly encapsulates the free spirit of these beautiful animals.

Fans who pre-order ‘The Darkness – Live At Hammersmith’ will receive live versions of ‘Buccaneers Of Hispaniola’ and ‘I Believe In A Thing Called Love’ as an instant-grat download.Don’t forget, The Darkness hit the road again this summer playing four arenas with The Hollywood Vampires and TRNSMT Festival in Glasgow with Queen + Adam Lambert.They play the following shows:

JUNE 2018 
Birmingham Genting Arena – 16th (with Hollywood Vampires)
Manchester Arena – 17th (with Hollywood Vampires)
Glasgow SSE Hydro – 19th (with Hollywood Vampires)
London SSE Arena Wembley – 20th (with Hollywood Vampires)

JULY 2018
Glasgow TRNSMT Festival – 6th (with Queen + Adam Lambert).

Buy Hollywood Vampires tickets here and Queen + Adam Lambert tickets here.

‘The Darkness – Live At Hammersmith’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Open Fire
2. Love Is Only A Feeling
3. Southern Trains
4. Black Shuck
5. One Way Ticket
6. Givin’ Up
7. All The Pretty Girls
8. Barbarian
9. Buccaneers Of Hispaniola
10. Friday Night
11. Makin’ Out
12. Every Inch Of You
13. Solid Gold
14. Stuck In A Rut
15. Get Your Hands Off My Woman
16. Growing On Me
17. Japanese Prisoner Of Love
18. Christmas Time (Don’t Let The Bells End)
19. I Believe In A Thing Called Love

Looking The Darkness collectables? Check out our website.

Explore… the world’s best online store for rare, collectable and out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!