Progressive Music Awards 2017 winners

From Teamrock.

Marillion, Anathema, Steve Hackett among Progressive Music Award winners

Artists from across the prog world have been honoured at the 2017 Progressive Music Awards in association with Orange Amplification.

The sixth annual event celebrated the past year in progressive music and was hosted once again by Matthew Wright, with dozens of artists taking their seats at the event at London’s Underglobe.

It was previously announced that Carl Palmer was to be crowned Prog God, and he was joined by a range of artists to receive one of the prestigious awards.

Marillion picked up the UK Band Of The Year award and International Band went to Swedish prog/metal outfit Opeth. The coveted Album Of The Year accolade went to Anathema for The Optimist, Steve Hackett received the Chris Squire Virtuoso honour and King Crimson topped the Best Video category for Heroes – their cover of the David Bowie classic.

Other winners on the night were Beatrix Players, Tim Bowness, Steve Hillage, Mark King, Voivod, John Miles, Max Hole and Eddie Jobson, while Spanish music festival Be Prog! My Friend scooped the best event award.

Full list of 2017 Progressive Music Award winners

Limelight – Beatrix Players
Video Of The Year – King Crimson – Heroes
Event Of The Year – Be Prog! My Friend
Reissue Of The Year – Steve Hillage – Searching For The Spark
Album Cover Of The Year – Tim Bowness – Lost In The Ghost Light
Album Of The Year – Anathema – The Optimist
International Band Of The Year – Opeth
UK Band Of The Year – Marillion
Outer Limits – Mark King
Outstanding Musical Achievement – John Miles
Chris Squire Virtuoso – Steve Hackett
Visionary – Voivod
Industry VIP – Max Hole
Lifetime Achievement – Eddie Jobson
Prog God – Carl Palmer

Looking for Progressive collectibles?

Explore… the world’s largest online retailer of rare and out of print vinyl, CDs and music memorabilia – since 1987.

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!