UFO Covers Album Coming Soon

From Planet Rock

UFO cover ZZ Top, Tom Petty, Steppenwolf and The Doors on new album

UFO have announced details of a new covers album featuring a dozen of the band’s favourite songs.

‘The Salentino Cuts’ will be released on Friday 29th September and it boasts interpretations of tracks by a wide array of artists including The Yardbirds, The Doors, Bill Withers, Tom Petty, Steppenwolf, ZZ Top and The Animals.

The 12-song collection will be released on CD and also on two limited edition vinyl pressings – splatter vinyl and white vinyl.

Lead guitarist Vinnie Moore says: “Making this covers record was a blast for me. I thoroughly enjoyed putting a little of my own spin on these tunes that I grew up with. I played ZZ Top and Robin Trower songs about a gazzilion times onstage over the years. it was great to actually get to record some of my old faves.”

Singer Phil Mogg first mentioned the covers album back in May in Issue 1 of Planet Rock Magazine when he also mentioned the band have considered doing a ‘Strangers In The Night’ tour.

“We have talked about touring and just doing the whole of ‘Strangers In The Night’ – for the craic,” Phil told us.

“But we’re still about making new music. We’re recording a covers album, actually. We’ve done The Doors’ ‘Break on Through (To The Other Side)’, The Yardbirds’ ‘Heart Full Of Soul’… but we don’t know what to call it.”

‘The Salentino Cuts’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Heartful Of Soul (The Yardbirds)
2. Break On Through (The Doors)
3. River Of Deceit (Mad Season)
4. The Pusher (Steppenwolf)
5. Paper In Fire (John Mellencamp)
6. Rock Candy (Montrose)
7. Mississippi Queen (Mountain)
8. Ain’t No Sunshine (Bill Withers)
9. Honey Bee (Tom Petty)
10. Too Rolling Stoned (Robin Trower)
11. Just Got Paid (ZZ Top)
12. It’s My Life (The Animals)

UFO played the Planet Rock Main Stage at Ramblin’ Man Fair on Sunday evening shortly before headliners ZZ Top. You can watch fan-filmed footage of ‘Doctor, Doctor’ below.

Why not have a look and see what UFO items are currently available on our website.

Explore eil.com… the world’s largest online retailer of rare and out of print vinyl, CDs and music memorabilia – since 1987.

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on RareVinyl.com
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to Vinyl-Wanted.com

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!