Motörhead cover David Bowie’s ‘Heroes’

From Planet Rock

Listen to Motörhead’s previously unheard cover of David Bowie’s ‘Heroes’

Motörhead’s cover of David Bowie’s ‘Heroes’ has premiered today (3rd August).

Lifted from the upcoming compilation album ‘Under Cöver’, the Bowie cover was recorded during the Bad Magic sessions in 2015 with producer Cameron Webb, and was one of the last songs Motörhead recorded together before Lemmy’s untimely death in December 2015.

The accompanying music video melds footage of Motörhead on stage and backstage together with poignant black-and-white photos of Lemmy, Phil Campbell and Mikkey Dee.  Motörhead performed ‘Heroes’ live just once in June 2015 at Germany’s Aftershock festival.

Watch the video here (via Rolling Stone):

Alongside ‘Heroes’, ‘Under Cöver’ features Motörhead’s unique take on tracks by The Sex Pistols (God Save The Queen), Metallica (Whiplash), The Rolling Stones (Jumpin’ Jack Flash / Sympathy For The Devil), Judas Priest (Breaking The Law) and Rainbow (Starstruck) recorded between 1992 and 2005.

Phil Campbell says of the ‘Heroes’ cover: “It’s such a great Bowie song, one of his best, and I could only see great things coming out of it from us, and so it proved to be and Lemmy ended up loving our version.”

“Lemmy was very, very proud of it,” adds Mikkey Dee. “Not only because it turned out so well but because it was fun! Which is what projects like this should be – fun!”

Reflecting upon the album as a whole, Mikkey adds: “We were happy with them at the time and we’re happy with them now! We should remember that it’s about having some fun with songs that we all loved.”

‘Under Cöver’ is released on various formats on Friday 1st September via Motörhead Music.

The track-listing is as follows:

1) Breaking the Law (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2008
2) God Save the Queen (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2000
3) Heroes (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
4) Starstruck (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2014
5) Cat Scratch Fever (Produced by Peter Solley) 1992
6) Jumpin’ Jack Flash (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
7) Sympathy for the Devil (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
8) Hellraiser (Produced by Billy Sherwood) 1992
9) Rockaway Beach (Mixed by Cameron Webb) 2002
10) Shoot ‘Em Down (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
11) Whiplash (Produced by Bruce Bouillet and Bob Kulick) 2005

Have a look to see what Motorhead items we currently have in stock.

Explore… the world’s largest online retailer of rare and out of print vinyl, CDs and music memorabilia – since 1987.


Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!