Robert Plant and Alison Krauss release atmospheric new single High And Lonesome

From Loudersound.

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss have released a new single. High And Lonesome comes from the pair’s upcoming second album Raise The Roof, the follow-up to 2007’s Grammy award-winning Raising Sand.  

High And Lonesome was co-written by Plant and producer T Bone Burnett and follows in the footsteps of Can’t Let Gofirst recorded by Lucinda Williams – which was released In August. Both tracks come from sessions that took place at Nashville’s Sound Emporium Studio in late 2019.

“When we started, Robert had said that if it didn’t work, we’ll try it for three days and say goodbye,” explains Krauss. “One of my favourite parts of this is the songs and songwriters that I had never heard of. “Working with Robert, and with T Bone, is always a great education in musical history.”

Raise The Roof also includes covers of deep cuts from the likes of Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, The Everly Brothers, Anne Briggs, Geeshie Wiley, Bert Jansch, Calexico and more.

“It’s such a far cry from everything I’ve done before,” says Plant. “I love the whole kaleidoscope of music that I’ve explored, but this is a place where you can think within the song, you can decide how to bring home an emotion. It’s another blend that we’ve got, and long may we have more of them.”

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss: Raise The Roof tracklist

1. Quattro (World Drifts In)
2. The Price of Love
3. Go Your Way
4. Trouble With My Lover
5. Searching for My Love
6. Can’t Let Go
7. It Don’t Bother Me
8. You Led Me to the Wrong
9. Last Kind Words Blues
10. High and Lonesome
11. Going Where the Lonely Go
12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me

Explore & sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!