Nirvana to release Nevermind 30th anniversary vinyl set

From Loudersound.

Nirvana’s 1991 breakthrough album, Nevermind, is getting a 30th anniversary reissue.

The trio’s first record for Geffen’s DGC Records imprint, Nevermind was originally released on September 24, 1991. On January 11, 1992, with the anarchic video for its lead single Smells Like Teen Spirit in constant rotation on MTV, the album knocked Michael Jackson’s Dangerous from the top of the US Billboard album chart, making Kurt Cobain, Krist Novoselic and Dave Grohl the nation’s most unlikely new pop stars.

“I thought …Teen Spirit was just another album cut, but the video made a big difference,” Dave Grohl recalled in his biography This Is A Call. “We were still in our little bubble… and it didn’t seem like anything unusual was happening until you’d get to the gig and it was chaos. And we started to notice there were normal people and jocks at the shows and it was like ‘Oh, maybe that video thing is attracting some… riff-raff’.”

A total of 94 audio and video tracks, 70 previously unreleased–will be made available across configurations ranging from Super Deluxe Editions to standard digital/CD and single disc vinyl with bonus seven-inch . Each edition is newly remastered from the original half-inch stereo analog tapes to high-resolution 192kHz 24-bit.

Among the previously unreleased material exclusive to various versions of the Nevermind 30th Anniversary Editions are four full live shows from the trio: Live in Amsterdam, Netherlands (recorded and filmed on November 25, 1991 at the Paradiso), Live in Del Mar, California (recorded on December 28, 1991 at the Pat O’Brien Pavilion at the Del Mar Fairgrounds), Live in MelbourneAustralia for triple j (recorded February 1, 1992 at The Palace in St. Kilda); and Live in Tokyo, Japan (recorded at the Nakano Sunplaza on February 19, 1992).

Also included in the £189.99 Super Deluxe Edition is a seven-inch vinyl pressing of ‘secret’ track Endless, Nameless with B-sides Even In His Youth and Aneurysm, and a 40-page hardcover book with previously unreleased photos. This edition will not be available until May 27, 2022. The Nevermind 30th Anniversary Edition Gatefold Vinyl LP + 7 inch edition will be available from November 12.


1 Endless, Nameless (Side A)
2 Even In His Youth (Side B)
3 Aneurysm (Side B)
LP 1 – Nevermind (Original Album Remastered)
1 Smells Like Teen Spirit (Side A)
2 In Bloom (Side A)
3 Come As You Are (Side A)
4 Breed (Side A)
5 Lithium (Side A)
6 Polly (Side A)
7 Territorial Pissings (Side B)
8 Drain You (Side B)
9 Lounge Act (Side B)
10 Stay Away (Side B)
11 On A Plain (Side B)
12 Something In The Way (Side B)
LP 2 – Live in Amsterdam, Netherlands (Paradiso, November 25, 1991)
1 Drain You* (Side A)
2 Aneurysm* (Side A)
3 School (Side A)
4 Floyd The Barber* (Side A)
5 Smells Like Teen Spirit* (Side B)
6 About A Girl* (Side B)
7 Polly* (Side B)
8 Lithium (Side B)
LP 3 – Live in Amsterdam, Netherlands (Paradiso, November 25, 1991) (continued)
1 Sliver* (Side A)
2 Breed (Side A)
3 Come As You Are* (Side A)
4 Been A Son (Side A)
5 Negative Creep* (Side A)
6 On A Plain* (Side B)
7 Blew (Side B)
8 Love Buzz* (Side B)
9 Territorial Pissings* (Side B)
LP 4 – Live in Del Mar, California (Pat O’Brien Pavilion, Del Mar Fairgrounds, December 28, 1991)
1 Drain You (Side A)
2 Aneurysm (Side A)
3 School* (Side A)
4 Floyd The Barber* (Side A)
5 Smells Like Teen Spirit (Side A)
6 About A Girl* (Side A)
7 Polly (Side B)
8 Sliver (Side B)
9 Breed* (Side B)
10 Come As You Are* (Side B)
11 Lithium* (Side B)
12 Territorial Pissings* (Side B)
LP 5 – Live in Melbourne, Australia for triple j (The Palace, St. Kilda, February 1, 1992)*
1 Aneurysm (Side A)
2 Drain You (Side A)
3 School (Side A)
4 Sliver (Side A)
5 About A Girl (Side B)
6 Come As You Are (Side B)
7 Lithium (Side B)
8 Breed (Side B)
9 Polly (Side B)
LP 6 – Live in Melbourne, Australia for triple j (The Palace, St. Kilda, February 1, 1992)* (continued)
1 Lounge Act (Side A)
2 In Bloom (Side A)
3 Love Buzz (Side A)
4 Smells Like Teen Spirit (Side A)
5 Feedback Jam (Side B)
6 Negative Creep (Side B)
7 On A Plain (Side B)
8 Blew (Side B)
LP 7 – Live in Tokyo, Japan (Nakano Sunplaza, February 19, 1992)*
1 Negative Creep (Side A)
2 Been A Son (Side A)
3 On A Plain (Side A)
4 Blew (Side A)
5 Come As You Are (Side A)
6 Lithium (Side B)
7 Breed (Side B)
8 Sliver (Side B)
9 Drain You (Side B)
LP 8 – Live in Tokyo, Japan (Nakano Sunplaza, February 19, 1992)* (continued)
1 About A Girl (Side A)
2 School (Side A)
3 Aneurysm (Side A)
4 Love Buzz (Side A)
5 Polly (Side B)
6 Territorial Pissings (Side B)
7 Smells Like Teen Spirit (Side B)

Explore & sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!