Caravan announce brand new studio album for October

From Loudersound.

Canterbury prog legends Caravan have announced that they will release a brand new studio album, It’s None Of Your Business, through Madfish on October 8.

The new ten-track album is Caravan’s first album since 2013’s Paradise Filter and features nine new songs plus one instrumental track influenced, to a degree, by the events and restrictions placed on society over the past 18 months.

ELO/ARW bass player Lee Pomeroy guests on the new album following the departure of Jim Leverton, while Jimmy Hastings has also guested on flute. The remainder of the line-up is Pye Hastings (guitar, vocals), Geoffrey Richardson (viola, mandolin, guitar), Jan Schelhaas (keyboards) and Mark Walker (drums).

The album was recorded, as restrictions allowed, ‘in the old-fashioned way’ between 24th June and 4th July 2021 at Rimshot Studio, Bredgar near Sittingbourne. “Sitting round in a circle having eye to eye contact, a large sound room was required,” Pye Hastings explains. “I much prefer this method because you can bounce ideas off each other as they occur, and voice encouragement when the whole thing begins to click.

“And it is much more rewarding to be able to throw insults at each other in person rather than down a telephone line or via email. This is something we are all very experienced at, believe me!”

This togetherness characterises It’s None Of Your Business with Caravan’s trademark warmth and humour and, also, a sensitivity reflecting the times in which we are living. Sitting among Caravan’s typically whimsical tales Down From London and If I Was To Fly sit the heartfelt and poignant Spare A Thought and Every Precious Little Thing which looks forward to a return to normality.

You can view the new album artwork for It’s None Of Your Business, created by renowned illustrator Bob Venables, below.

Caravan released the 37-disc deluxe box set Who Do We Think We Are? in August.


(Image credit: Madfish)

Caravan: It’s None Of Your Business
01. Down From London
02. Wishing You Were Here
03. It’s None Of Your Business
04. Ready Or Not
05. Spare A Thought
06. Every Precious Little Thing
07. If I Was To Fly
08. I’ll Reach Out For You
09. There Is You
10. Luna’s Tuna

Explore & sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!