David Gilmour to release Yes I Have Ghosts as 7″ single

From Loudersound.

David Gilmour will release his first new music for five years when Yes, I Have Ghosts comes out as a 7″ vinyl single  for Record Store Day on November 27. The song, written by Gilmour and wife Polly Samson, features the voice and harp playing of their daughter Romany. The new 7” version features a previously unheard alternate mix of the track by Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson.

“I was working on this song just as we went in to lockdown and had to cancel a session with backing singers but, as it turned out, the solution was right here and I couldn’t be happier with the way Romany’s voice blends with mine and her beautiful harp playing has been another revelation,” says Gilmour.

Yes, I Have Ghosts was digitally released in the Summer and was previously only available as part of the ground-breaking audiobook for Samson’s latest novel A Theatre Of Dreamers.

“Collaborating with David – as I have done many times over the last 30 years, writing songs for both Pink Floyd and his solo albums – we were able to bring together the worlds of literature and music to enhance the listening experience and connect with audiences in a way which I don’t think has been done before,” adds Samson.

Set on the idyllic Greek island of Hydra in 1960, A Theatre For Dreamers captures the hazy, sun-drenched days of an expat bohemian community of poets, painters, and musicians, including a twenty-five year old Leonard Cohen.

Before the Covid-19 lockdown Samson, Gilmour and family were about to take A Theatre For Dreamers on the road for a short series of shows blending words and music. Sadly these dates have had to be postponed until June 2021 but the ‘Von Trapped Family’, as they dubbed themselves, took to Facebook to host live stream-adapted versions of the shows.

Explore eil.com & 991.com sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

  • Pink Floyd - Meddle - 3rd - EX - UK - vinyl LP - £20.00, $27.20, €22.40 (New Item) (arrived 27-Feb-2021 16:42)
    on February 28, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    PINK FLOYD Meddle (1978 UK third issue of the 1971 6-track LP with 'EMI Records' label perimeter text & EMI logo, featuring the epic classic Echoes, textured gatefold picture sleeve. The sleeve shows just a little light shelfwear with some edge/spine scuffing but has no writing, rips or tears remaining otherwise excellent with nice bright panels and clean innerspread, nice for this type of textured sleeve prone to more wear and fading/staining. The vinyl grades EX with just the oddsurface scuff revealing only faint evidence of play SHVL795)

  • Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon - Remastered - Sealed - UK - vinyl LP - £24.99, $33.99, €27.99 (New Item) (arrived 17-Feb-2021 11:11)
    on February 28, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    PINK FLOYD The Dark Side Of The Moon (2016 UK/EU remastered edition 180g vinyl LP of the all-time Hall of Fame classic 1973 album, expertly remastered from the original analogue master tapes by James Guthrie, Joel Plante & Bernie Grundman. Deluxe gatefold picture sleeve with two posters and two stickers inside, factory sealed with the circular hype sticker intact. Essential! PFRLP8) #Top 500 Greatest Albums of All Time

  • Pink Floyd - The Wall - Sealed - UK - 2-CD album set - £15.00, $20.40, €16.80 (New Item) (arrived 12-Feb-2021 10:46)
    on February 28, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    PINK FLOYD The Wall (2011 issue UK 26-track digitally remastered 2-CD album set - One of the most acclaimed concept albums of all time, 'The Wall' is renowned as Roger Waters' Rock Opera dealing with abandonment and personal isolation. Featuring the unique artwork of Gerald Scarfe, the album also yielded the US & UK No. 1 hit 'Another Brick In The Wall [Pt2], and was subsequently adapted for cinema by Alan Parker featuring Bob Geldof in the lead role. The new Discovery version presents the original studio album, digitally remastered by James Guthrie and presented in a newly designed digipak picture sleeve complete with a new 28 page booklet designed by Storm Thorgerson)

  • David Gilmour - Rattle That Lock: Sealed Digibook - UK - CD album - £8.99, $12.23, €10.07 (New Item) (arrived 12-Feb-2021 10:57)
    on February 28, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    DAVID GILMOUR Rattle That Lock (2015 UK limited edition 10-track CD, the fourth solo studio album from the legendary vocalist & guitarist from Pink Floyd, including the singles Today, Faces Of Stone, In Any Tongue and the title track. Complete with a 22-page picture / lyric booklet containing photos by Kevin Westenberg & Polly Samson, the disc is UNPLAYED housed in the hardback book which has gold embossed titling to the spine and remains sealed within its hype-stickered shrinkwrap)

  • Pink Floyd - Animals - 1st - EX - UK - vinyl LP - £95.00, $129.20, €106.40 (New Item) (arrived 14-Feb-2021 11:56)
    on February 28, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    PINK FLOYD Animals (1977 UK first press 5-track LP, complete with the round cornered card lyric inner with 'SHVL 815 (I)' print & wide spined gatefold picture sleeve with 'Made and printed in Great Britain 7701 TM Garrod & Lofthouse Ltd' textinside. The sleeve shows scuffing around the edges & corners, unavoidable with age with a small seam split to the inner, & despite a few light paper marks & minor spindle wear, the vinyl is clean & remains in Excellent condition with superb sound performance. A nice, if not mint, example & increasingly in demand SHVL815)

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!

Eil.com Buy & Sell Rare Vinyl Records