Twisted Sister and Fleetwood Mac anthems turned into children’s picture books

Dee Snider in the 1980s © Getty

From Planet Rock.

Signature songs by Fleetwood Mac and Twisted Sister have been re-interpreted into illustrated children’s picture books.

Christine McVie’s lyrics from Fleetwood Mac’s 1977 ‘Rumours’ song ‘Don’t Stop’ and the Dee Snider penned lyrics for Twisted Sister’s 1984 anthem ‘We’re Not Gonna Take It’ have been released as children’s books this week as part of Akashic Books’ LyricPop series.

‘We’re Not Gonna Take It’ features illustrations from Margaret McCartney and is described as a playful picture book echoing 1980s hair band Twisted Sister’s most popular anti-establishment anthem.

Dee Snider children’s book

The picture book follows three toddlers on a mission to defy their parents, whether it be lunchtime, bath time, or bedtime.

Margaret McCartney comments: “When the publisher, Akashic Books asked me to illustrate the book, I jumped at the chance. I really liked illustrating the very beginning of the book: “We’re not gonna take it / No, we ain’t gonna take it / We’re not gonna take it / anymore!” — refusing food is a baby’s first rebellious act.”

Dee Snider adds: “Seeing the images attached to the lyrics was shocking to me at first. I never imagined the song being relative to toddlers and infants and small children, but the realization was that rebellion is one of our first instincts.

“We have many first instincts of course — love, and hunger, things like that — but we also very quickly establish what we want and what we don’t want, and what we like and what we don’t like. Being rebellious is something born in us and bred in us, and it is at our very core, so seeing those pictures was actually an education for me.”

Christine McVie children’s book

The Christine McVie ‘Don’t Stop’ book boasts illustrations from Nusha Ashjaee, and imagines a rabbit willing her hibernating friends out of a long and dark winter and into joyous spring.

Akashic Books write: ‘McVie’s classic song about keeping one’s chin up and rolling with life’s punches is beautifully adapted to an uplifting children’s book.

‘Don’t Stop is a great opportunity for fans of Christine McVie and Fleetwood Mac to introduce their favourite band to their young children, and for parents looking to share a bright message in song.’

Both ‘Don’t Stop’ and ‘We’re Not Gonna Take It’ are available to buy in the UK right now.

Other songs reimagined as books in the LyricPop series include The Beach Boys’ ‘Good Vibrations’, Peter Tosh’s ‘African’ and two Otis Redding songs – ‘Respect’ and ‘(Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay.’

Explore eil.com & 991.com sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!