Simple Minds to release Street Fighting Years box set

From Loudersound.

Simple Minds will release a box set celebrating their 1989 album Street Fighting Years.

The new edition was remastered at Abbey Road studios by Andrew Walters and will be presented as a 4CD set, a 2CD deluxe package and on 2LP – and it’ll be out on March 6 through UMC.

The follow-up to 1985’s Once Upon A Time featured the core trio of vocalist Jim Kerr, guitarist Charlie Burchill and keyboardist Mick MacNeil, with a raft of other musicians brought in during studio sessions, including Stewart Copeland, Leroy Williams, Mel Gaynor, Lisa Germano and Lou Reed, who provided backing vocals on This Is Your Land.

The 4CD set will include all 11 album tracks, a disc of edits, b-sides and remixes, and a double CD featuring a previously unreleased live show recorded in Verona in 1989.

The 2-disc versions will feature the original album, plus the disc of edits, b-sides and remixes.

Along with the music, the Street Fighting Years box set will also come with a booklet designed by long time Simple Minds contributor Stuart Crouch, which contains sleeve notes penned by Daryl Easlea who interviewed the band and producer Trevor Horn for the set.

CD1: Street Fighting Years    
1. Street Fighting Years
2. Soul Crying Out
3. Wall of Love
4. This Is Your Land
5. Take A Step Back
6. Kick It In
7. Let It All Come Down
8. Mandela Day
9. Belfast Child
10. Biko
11. When Spirits Rise

CD2: Edits, B-Sides and Remixes
1. Belfast Child – Edit
2. Mandela Day- Edit                                                                     .
3. This Is Your Land – Edit
4. Saturday Girl – B-Side
5. Year of The Dragon – B-Side
6. This Is Your Land – DJ Version
7. Kick It In – Edit
8. Waterfront – ’89 Remix
9. Big Sleep – Live
10. Kick It In – Unauthorised Mix
11. Sign O’ The Times – Edit
12. Let It All Come Down – Edit
13. Sign O’ The Times – B-Side
14. Jerusalem B-Side
15. Sign O’ The Times – C. J. Mackintosh Remix

CD 3: Verona Live
1. Theme for Great Cities ’90
2. When Spirits Rise
3. Street Fighting Years
4. Mandela Day
5. This Is Your Land
6. Soul Crying Out
7. Waterfront
8. Ghost Dancing
9. Book of Brilliant Things
10. Don’t You (Forget About Me)

CD4: Verona Live cont. 
1. Gaelic Melody
2. Kick It In
3. Let It All Come Down
4. Belfast Child
5. Sun City
6. Biko
7. Sanctify Yourself
8. East at Easter
9. Alive and Kicking

Explore & sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music



Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!