The Who launch furious new single All This Music Must Fade

From Loudersound.

The Who’s Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey (Image credit: Rick Guest)

The Who have released a new single, All This Music Must Fade. The track comes from their upcoming album Who, which will launch on December 6, and arrives three weeks after the band shared Ball And Chain.

Pete Townshend describes All This Music Must Fade as, “A song dedicated to every artist who has ever been accused of ripping off someone else’s song. Seriously? Our musical palette is limited enough in the 21st century without some dork claiming to have invented a common chord scheme.”

Roger Daltrey, who ends All This Music Must Fade by proclaiming, “Who gives a fuck?” says, “I think we’ve made our best album since Quadrophenia in 1973. Pete hasn’t lost it, he’s still a fabulous songwriter and he’s still got that cutting edge.”

Townsend adds: “This album is almost all new songs written last year, with just two exceptions. There is no theme, no concept, no story, just a set of songs that I – and my brother Simon – wrote to give Roger some inspiration, challenges and scope for his newly revived singing voice.

“Roger and I are both old men now, by any measure, so I’ve tried to stay away from romance, but also from nostalgia if I can. I didn’t want to make anyone feel uncomfortable. Memories are OK, and some of the songs refer to the explosive state of things today.”

All This Music Will Fade is available via streaming platforms now.

The Who will tour across the UK and Ireland throughout March and April next year, where they’ll be joined by a full orchestra. Tickets are on sale now.

Explore & sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

  • The Who - Live At Leeds - Complete - Blue Text - A1/B1 - EX - UK - vinyl LP - £125.00, $152.50, €138.75 (New Item) (arrived 11-Oct-2019 16:35)
    on January 1, 1970 at 12:00 am

    THE WHO Live At Leeds (1970 UK Track label 6-track live LP with A1/B1 matrices, in 'bootleg' style stapled pocket gatefold sleeve with blue text on front & complete with all 12 inserts including poster, photos & repro band letters, receipts & lyrics. The vinyl is graded VG+/EX- with some minor surface scuffs & marks but plays without any issues. The sleeve is still in great shape for its age with just a small nick at the top, whilst all inserts remain in a fantastic condition and theposter has never been displayed) * note that the base paper colour of inserts may vary from the illustration *

  • The Who - My Generation - SuperSizeArt Numbered Print - UK - artwork - £195.00, $237.90, €216.45 (New Item) (arrived 10-Oct-2019 10:59)
    on January 1, 1970 at 12:00 am

    THE WHO My Generation - SUPERSIZE NUMBERED PRINT - Ideal for home framing in a frame of your choice.Morgan is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Art and in 2010 he was shortlisted and received display notices at The RoyalAcademy. Morgan currently shows at Galleries in London and Manchester and his work hangs at BBC Radio 2 and at BBC Radio 6Music. His series of 45RPM paintings are unique, with each single only ever painted once. Many are now owned by the originalartists suchas Ozzy Osbourne, Neil Diamond and Jerry Dammers as well as the music companies themselves: Morgan Howell FRSA Limited Edition Prints of his original 3D Paintings St.Albans, Hertfordshire His first Supersize 45 was House of the Rising Sun by The Animals painted in 2009 on The Columbia label.My Generation' was released as a single on 5 November 1965, reaching #2 in the UK and #74 in America. Townshend reportedly wrote the song on a train and is said to have been inspired by the Queen Mother, who is alleged to have had Townshend's 1935 Packard hearse towed off a street in Belgravia because she was offended by the sight of it during her daily drive through the neighbourhood. ‘My Generation’ was very much about trying to find a place in society. Strictly limited to just 75 numbered copies Printed on fine art paper, signed, stamped and numbered by Morgan Howell Size: 430mm x 530mm (17" x 21") Note, this print is not framed and the image is a suggested frame style only. ** Produced at point of order and despatched by Morgan personally within 48 hours, Monday to Friday only**

  • The Who - Wire & Glass - UK - 12" vinyl - £15.00, $18.30, €16.65 (New Item) (arrived 09-Oct-2019 16:13)
    on January 1, 1970 at 12:00 am

    THE WHO Wire & Glass (2006 UK limited edition 12" single pressed on Etched Vinyl - the 11-minute 6-track epic taken from their long-awaited 1st album in over 20 years and is itself part of the longer mini-opera 'The Boy Who Heard Music'; it is, as you might expect, a record that is unmistakably The Who and yet at the same time sounds amazingly contemporary, individually numbered & stickered PVC sleeve)

  • The Who - La-La-La-Lies - VG - UK - 7" vinyl - £35.00, $42.70, €38.85 (New Item) (arrived 05-Oct-2019 17:54)
    on January 1, 1970 at 12:00 am

    THE WHO La-La-La-Lies (Rare 1966 UK 7" single with four prong centre, also featuring The Good's Gone, Brunswick company die-cut paper sleeve. This single was released the same day as the Ready Steady Who EP & did not enter the charts, remaining one of their hardest to find UK singles. The vinyl grades VG+ with just a few light surface hairlines not affecting play)

  • The Who - I Can't Explain - VG - UK - 7" vinyl - £20.00, $24.40, €22.20 (New Item) (arrived 05-Oct-2019 17:51)
    on January 1, 1970 at 12:00 am

    THE WHO I Can't Explain (Classic 1965 UK 7" single with four prong centre, also featuring Bald Headed Woman, Brunswick company die-cut paper sleeve. The vinyl remains Very Good with some light surface scuffs to show for over fifty years)


Sign up for Record Collecting News

* = required field

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply