Tarja Turunen releases new single Tears In Rain

From Loudersound.

Ex-Nightwish singer, Tarja has released a video for her new single Tears In Rain.

It’s the latest track taken from her upcoming album In The Raw, which is set to arrive on August 30 through earMUSIC.

The video takes the viewer into the world of roller derby, and sees Tarja playing Black Leijona who, together with her Killer Crows team, is on the verge of losing the decisive game of the season. Can she rise and lead the team to glory?

Tarja explains: “I was looking for a strong video – I didn’t want to get into a cliché of tears and rain or a breakup story.

“The song is about overcoming difficulties that could apply to any aspects of life. The instructions I gave to director Florian Kaltenbach was to avoid the obvious. I wanted an action video where I could take part in. He proposed the roller derby idea and I loved it.”

Tarja reveals that she’d never taken part in the sport prior to the video shoot, and unfortunately, she suffered an injury as a result.

She says: “I haven’t been on skates too much. I have been ice skating in my youth, but I realised immediately that skating with rollers is a totally different thing. I had to learn, and I only had three days before the video shoot that took place in London! I knew I was in trouble.

“It’s already common for me to get hurt in my videos, and this was not an exception. I had an accident in a skatepark near home and dislocated my coccyx – broke my ass! Despite terrible pain I did two shows and the video shoot with a broken butt.

“So – as in the story of the video – I myself overcame difficulties. If you see me in pain in some parts of the video, that is not acting.”

Tarja adds: “The roller girls and the video team took good care of me and I enjoyed the experience despite my condition. I had a lot of fun! When I recover, I want to take my daughter skating with me. We both got hooked on roller skating!”

Tarja: In The Raw
1. Dead Promises (with Björn “Speed” Strid)
2. Goodbye Stranger (with Cristina Scabbia)
3. Tears In Rain
4. Railroads
5. You And I
6. The Golden Chamber
i. Awaken
ii. Loputon yö
iii. Alchemy
7. Spirits Of The Sea
8. Silent Masquerade (with Tommy Karevik)
9. Serene
10. Shadow Play

Explore eil.com & 991.com sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

  • Tarja Turunen - In The Raw - Sealed Box - Dutch - box set - £49.99, $60.99, €55.49 (New Item) (arrived 24-Sep-2019 11:54)
    on January 1, 1970 at 12:00 am

    TARJA TURUNEN In The Raw (2019 Dutch pressed UK & European Limited Edition FOUR-DISC boxset comprising the 10-track studio album from the Finnish vocalist pressed across TWO Picture Disc LPs and ONE CD album along with the Bonus 'Extra Raw' CD incld alternate versions of seven album tracks. Complete with three photo cards and a 64-page 12" photo book, all four discs are BRAND NEW & unplayed housed in the 12.5" x 12.5" x 1.5" two-piece picture box which remains sealed within its original shrinkwrap 0214128EMU)

Sign up for Blog.eil.com Record Collecting News

* = required field

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply