Pink Floyd’s Nick Mason to presents new BBC series on music and technology

From Loudersound.

Former Pink Floyd drummer Nick Mason is the host of a new nine-part Open University series on the BBC World Service.

It’s titled A History Of Music In Technology and explores “the world of legendary artists, producers, engineers and inventors.”

The series also take a close look at innovations that have changed the musical landscape, including the electric guitar, drum machines, samplers, synthesisers and the evolution of the recording studio.

Lecturer in music at The Open University, Dr Sean Williams – who is also one of the series’ academic consultant – says: “This series is hugely ambitious in that it covers such a wide range of different music and traces some fascinating connections between different technologies.

“You can discover the history of sampling: How experimental French radio is connected to hip-hop, why Steve Vai’s guitar has a hole cut in it, how a budget portable church organ changed popular music, and many, many more fascinating stories – many of them told directly by the people involved using new interviews or archive recordings.”

A History Of Music In Technology is broadcast on Saturday mornings at 11.06am and will run through June 22.

The Open University has also produced free resources and materials to go along with with the series, including an interview with Nick Mason. For further information, visit the programme’s website.

Last week, Mason attended a ceremony at London’s Buckingham Palace to receive a CBE in recognition of his services to music.

Image may contain: 4 people, people smiling, people standing, suit and indoor

Explore… the world’s best online store for rare, collectable and out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

  • Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here - Complete - Japanese - vinyl LP - £150.00, $193.50, €175.50 (New Item) (arrived 07-Apr-2020 12:34)
    on April 7, 2020 at 5:27 pm

    PINK FLOYD Wish You Were Here (Wonderful 1975 Japanese original 5-track LP, housed in the iconic picture sleeve complete with lyric inner, fold-out Japanese text 'History of Pink Floyd' insert, a 20" x 30" fold-out poster, glossy Hipgnosis designed postcard & remains in the original custom stickered blue shrink with both obi-stickers attached. The poster is unused & the sleeve remains in Near Mint condition, with the shrink keeping all components in superb condition. Naturally, theshrink shows some light scuffing, whilst te vinyl remains in Excellent condition with a deep sheen & just some minor paper scuffs to show play SOPO100)

  • Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon - Complete - Japanese - vinyl LP - £125.00, $161.25, €146.25 (New Item) (arrived 07-Apr-2020 12:12)
    on April 7, 2020 at 5:27 pm

    PINK FLOYD The Dark Side Of The Moon (1974 Japanese issue of the classic 1973 9-track vinyl LP, housed in the iconic gatefold picture sleeve comes complete with two large fold-out posters, a double sided postcard, a unique glossy illustrated thirty-two page booklet with band history, lyrics, discography & 1973 tour dates plus the a wonderful picture obi-strip and the vinyl appears in near 'as new' condition EMS-80324)

  • Pink Floyd - Meddle - 3rd - Made In USA - EX - UK - vinyl LP - £50.00, $64.50, €58.50 (New Item) (arrived 07-Apr-2020 09:35)
    on April 7, 2020 at 5:27 pm

    PINK FLOYD Meddle (1974 UK third import issue of the 1971 6-track LP with 'EMI Records', EMI logo & 'Made in U.S.A' perimeter print. The record was pressed in the States for sale in the UK & comes housed in a British manufactured gatefold picture sleeve. The sleeve & vinyl remain in Excellent condition with just minor shelfwear & light evidence of play SHVL795)

  • Pink Floyd - Money - Italian - 7" vinyl - £30.00, $38.70, €35.10 (New Item) (arrived 07-Apr-2020 09:25)
    on April 7, 2020 at 5:27 pm

    PINK FLOYD Money (Scarce 1973 Italian wide centred 7" single on Harvest, also including Any Colour You Like, unique picture sleeve with pyramids on the front & 'Dark Side Of The Mood' release information. The delicate sleeve [VG+] has some mild ring wear creases & the vinyl grades EX/EX- with just a few faint cosmetic signs of play 3C006-05368)

  • Pink Floyd - The Later Years - Super Deluxe Boxset - Sealed - UK - box set - £299.99, $386.99, €350.99 (Back In Stock) (arrived 06-Apr-2020 12:39)
    on April 7, 2020 at 5:27 pm

    PINK FLOYD The Later Years (FANTASTIC 2019 UK Super Deluxe Edition EIGHTEEN DISC Multi-Format Boxset - Comprising 5 CDs, 6 BLU-RAYS, 5 DVDs and 2 7" vinyl singles, the 'Later Years' focuses on the later period of their career when Roger Waters had quit and David Gilmour, Rick Wright and Nick Mason were left to continue on their own to produce studio albums and undertake massive world tours. Both 'A Momentary Lapse of Reason' and 'Delicate Sound Of Thunder' have been remixed, with the former also 'updated' [thought to be new Nick Mason drums and alternate Rick Wright parts] across the first three CDs while the fourth gathers together unreleased live and studio recordings and the fifth contains their 57 minute Knebworth concert from 1990. The Blu-Rays contain new 5.1 mixes of the two albums, a Restored & Re-edited version of 'Pulse', their Venice and Knebworth concerts and more; while the DVDs contains the content of five of the six discs; while the two vinyl etched 7"s include 'Arnold Layne' performed live by Pink Floyd at the Syd Barrett Tribute concert in 2007 and 'Lost For Words' from the Pulse tour rehearsals at Earls Court. All eighteen discs are BRAND NEW & unplayed housed in the stunning 13" x 13.5" x 3.5" deluxe boxset which comes complete with a 60-page hard backed book of photos designed by Aubrey Powell of Hipgnosis and Peter Curzon of StormStudios, a newly-created set of reproduction tour programmes and a brand new Lyrics Book!)


Sign up for Record Collecting News

* = required field

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!