ZZ Top’s Billy F Gibbons announces new solo album ‘The Big Bad Blues’

From Planet Rock.

The follow-up to 2015’s Arfo-Cuban flavoured ‘Perfectamundo’, ‘The Big Bad Blues’ will be released on Friday 21st September 2018 via Snakefarm Records.

Co-produced by Billy and Joe Hardy and recorded at Foam Box Recordings in Houston, the album boasts 11 blues-rock tracks consisting of six BFG originals and five cover versions of songs by Muddy Waters, Bo Diddley, Jerome Green and Gilly Stillwater.

With Billy taking on guitar, harmonica and vocal duties, he was flanked by a stellar line-up of musicians including Joe Hardy on bass, Matt Sorum (Guns N’ Roses/Velvet Revolver/The Cult) and Nashville session great Greg Morrow on drums, Mike ‘The Drifter’ Flanigin on keyboards and James Harmon on additional harmonica.

“We successfully made our way through those uncharted waters with the Cubano flavour of ‘Perfectamundo’ and completed the journey,” says the ZZ Top star in distinguishing ‘The Big Bad Blues’ from its predecessor.

“The shift back to the blues is a natural. It’s something which our followers can enjoy with the satisfaction of experiencing the roots tradition and, at the same time, feeling the richness of stretching the art form.”

Reflecting on his love for the blues, he said: “There’s something very primordial within the art form. Nobody gets away from the infectious allure of those straight-ahead licks!”

To whet fans’ appetites ahead of the album’s release, Billy has premiered the lyric video for his cover of Muddy Waters’ Rollin’ and Tumblin’. Watch it here:

Waxing lyrical about his band, Billy said: “From deep in the heart of Texas, our Hammond organ specialist, Mr. Mike Flanigin, stepped forward and accepted the invitation to move from the B3 bench to take on the task of pounding the ivory 88s,” says Billy, adding, “Great piano stuff from Mike ‘The Drifter’ Flanigin.

“Master of the Fender Bass-guitar, Joe Hardy, lent his low-down sound with his fearless funkiness, SO fine!

“Also, in the mash-up mix, the man-with-the-backbeat-plan, Greg Morrow. G keeps the skins alive and kickin’. And while we’re on that backbeat thang…

“Matt Sorum steps forward with his super-syncopation, thrashing the skins like nobody’s business.

“Alabama-come-California soulster Austin Hanks roughs up the riffs with his left-handed six-string electric. Have mercy!”

‘The Big Bad Blues’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Missin’ Yo’ Kissin’ (Gilly Stillwater)
2. My Baby She Rocks
3. Second Line
4. Standing Around Crying (Muddy Waters)
5. Let the Left Hand Know…
6. Bring It to Jerome (Jerome Green)
7. That’s What She Said
8. Mo’ Slower Blues
9. Hollywood 151
10. Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (Muddy Waters)
11. Crackin’ Up (Bo Diddley)


Be sure to check out our ZZ Top collectables on eil.com, and if you have any items to sell, please call us on 01474815099

Explore eil.com… the world’s largest online retailer of rare and out of print vinyl, CDs and music memorabilia – since 1987.

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on RareVinyl.com
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to Vinyl-Wanted.com

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!