New Frank Zappa box set due in February

A new box set of Frank Zappa material is due to be released in February, focusing on his two night, four show stand at the Los Angeles Roxy Theatre in December 1973.

Tracks from the performances have been featured on the 1974 live album, Roxy and Elsewhere, along with Roxy by Proxy and Roxy the Movie. This will be the first time the concerts have been released in their entirety.

“This is one of my favorite FZ line-ups ever. This box contains some of the best nights of music Los Angeles has ever seen with their ears at an historic venue,” Ahmet Zappa said in a statement. “Hold on to your hotdogs people. This box is the be-all-end-all. This is it. This is all of it. It’s time to get your rocks off for the Roxy.”

It is due for release on February 2, 2018, and you can find more Frank Zappa rarities and collectables in our store.

The Roxy Performances Track List

12-9-73 Show 1
1. “Sunday Show 1 Start”
2. “Cosmik Debris”
3. “‘We’re Makin’ A Movie'”
4. “Pygmy Twylyte”
5. “The Idiot Bastard Son”
6. “Cheepnis”
7. “Hollywood Perverts”
8. “Penguin In Bondage”
9. “T’Mershi Duween”
10. “The Dog Breath Variations”
11. “Uncle Meat”
12. “RDNZL”
13. “Montana”
14. “Dupree’s Paradise”

1. “Dickie’s Such An Asshole”
12-9-73 Show 2
2. “Sunday Show 2 Start”
3. “Inca Roads”
4. “Village Of The Sun”
5. “Echidna’s Arf (Of You)”
6. “Don’t You Ever Wash That Thing?”
7. “Slime Intro”
8. “I’m The Slime”
9. “Big Swifty”

1. “Tango #1 Intro”
2. “Be-Bop Tango (Of The Old Jazzmen’s Church)”
3. “Medley: King Kong/Chunga’s Revenge/Son Of Mr. Green Genes”
12-10-73 Show 1
4. “Monday Show 1 Start”
5. “Montana”
6. “Dupree’s Paradise”
7. “Cosmik Intro”
8. “Cosmik Debris”

1. “Bondage Intro”
2. “Penguin In Bondage”
3. “T’Mershi Duween”
4. “The Dog Breath Variations”
5. “Uncle Meat”
6. “RDNZL”
7. “Audience Participation – RDNZL”
8. “Pygmy Twylyte”
9. “The Idiot Bastard Son”
10. “Cheepnis”
11. “Dickie’s Such An Asshole”
12-10-73 Show 2
12. “Monday Show 2 Start”
13. “Penguin In Bondage”
14. “T’Mershi Duween”
15. “The Dog Breath Variations”
16. “Uncle Meat”
17. “RDNZL”

1. “Village Of The Sun”
2. “Echidna’s Arf (Of You)”
3. “Don’t You Ever Wash That Thing?”
4. “Cheepnis – Percussion”
5. “‘I Love Monster Movies”
6. “Cheepnis”
7. “Turn The Light Off’/Pamela’s Intro”
8. “Pygmy Twylyte”
9. “The Idiot Bastard Son”
10. “Tango #2 Intro”
11. “Be-Bop Tango (Of The Old Jazzmen’s Church)”

1. “Dickie’s Such An Asshole”
Bonus Section: 12-10-73 Roxy Rehearsal
2. “Big Swifty – In Rehearsal”
3. “Village Of The Sun”
4. “Farther O’Blivion – In Rehearsal”
5. “Pygmy Twylyte”
6. “That Arrogant Dick Nixon”
12-12-73 Bolic Studios Recording Session
7. “Kung Fu – In Session”
8. “Kung Fu – with guitar overdub”
9. “Tuning and Studio Chatter”
10. “Echidna’s Arf (Of You) – In Session”
11. “Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow – In Session”
12. “Nanook Rubs It – In Session”
13. “St. Alfonzo’s Pancake Breakfast – In Session”
14. “Father O’Blivion – In Session”
15. “Rollo (Be-Bop Version)”

12-8-73 Sound Check/Film Shoot”
1. “Saturday Show Start”
2. “Pygmy Twylyte/Dummy Up”
3. “Pygmy Twylyte – Part II”
4. “Echidna’s Arf (Of You)”
5. “Don’t You Ever Wash That Thing?”
6. “Orgy, Orgy”
7. “Penguin In Bondage”
8. “T’Mershi Duween”
9. “The Dog Breath Variations”
10. “Uncle Meat/Show End”… the world’s largest online retailer of rare and out of print vinyl, CD and music memorabilia – since 1987

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!