Lindsey Buckingham announces solo album and releases single I Don’t Mind

From Loudersound.

Lindsey Buckingham has announced his first solo album in a decade, following 2011’s Seeds We Sow. Alongside the announcement, Buckingham has shared a new single, I Don’t Mind.

The self-titled LP was written, recorded and produced by Buckingham at his home studio in Los Angeles, and is due out for release September 21 via Reprise.

I Don’t Mind features Buckingham’s characteristic plucky guitar style, breezy vocals and a summery melody. Speaking of the new track, he says “like many of the songs on my new album, it is about the challenges couples face in long-term relationships.”

“Over time, two people inevitably find the need to augment their initial dynamic with one of flexibility, an acceptance of each others’ flaws and a willingness to continually work on issues; it is the essence of a good long term relationship. This song celebrates that spirit and discipline.”

Buckingham will also be venturing back onto the road in September with a 30-city 2021 US tour, following an eventful few years which saw the guitarist undergo life-saving open-heart surgery in 2019. Dates below.

He was also fired from Fleetwood Mac in 2018, allegedly due to wanting too much time off to concentrate on his solo work, alongside other personal disagreements with various members of the band. He was replaced by Crowded House’s Neil Finn and former lead guitarist of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, Mike Campbell.

When asked in an interview with Rolling Stone in March if there was any scenario in which Fleetwood Mac could ever play with Buckingham again, drummer Mick Fleetwood said: “Strange things can happen. I look at Fleetwood Mac as a huge family. Everyone plays an important role in our history, even someone like [former guitarist] Bob Welch, who was huge and sometimes gets forgotten. Lindsey’s position in Fleetwood Mac will, for obvious reasons, never be forgotten, as it should never be forgotten.”

“My vision of things happening in the future is really far-reaching,” he continued. “Would I love to think that [reunion] could happen? Yeah. I’d love to think that all of us could be healed, and also respect the people who are in the band, Neil Finn and Michael Campbell.”

Lindsey Buckingham tracklisting:

1. Scream
2. I Don’t Mind
3. On The Wrong Side
4. Swan Song
5. Blind Love
6. Time
7. Blue Light
8. Power Down
9. Santa Rosa
10. Dancing

US Tour Dates:

Lindsey Buckingham

(Image credit: Lindsey Buckingham)

Explore & sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!