Diamond Head re-record classic debut album as Lightning To The Nations 2020

From Loudersound.

Diamond Head have announced the forthcoming release of a re-recording of their acclaimed debut album Lightning To The Nations. The new version, Lightning To The Nations 2020, will be released on November 20 via Silver Lining Music.

The release will feature four added cover versions, Diamond Head’s takes on Judas Priest’s SinnerLed Zeppelin’s Immigrant SongDeep Purple’s Rat Bat Blue and, in a nice nod to the band who re-introduced their music to a new generation of rock fans, Metallica’s No Remorse.

“We thought it’d be great to re-record the debut album with this line-up and the modern technology available,” says guitarist Brian Tatler. “The original album was recorded and mixed in a week, and we were very young, still 19/20 years old when it was recorded, so there’s a lot of that youthful energy. But we didn’t have the technique, time or craftsmanship to record it with the sort of power that we could now. So that was a real thing to savour: the opportunity to go in the studio and record these songs fresh and vibrant.”

As a preview of the album, the band have released their updated take on It’s Electric, which was Diamond Head superfan Lars Ulrich’s introduction to the band. Metallica would go on to cover four songs from Lightning To The NationsAm I Evil?The PrinceHelpless and It’s Electric.

LTTN 2020

(Image credit: Silver Lining Music)

Lightning To The Nations 2020 Track Listing:

1. Lightning to the Nations
2. The Prince
3. Sucking My Love
4. Am I Evil?
5. Sweet and Innocent
6. It’s Electric
7. Helpless
8. No Remorse
9. Immigrant Song
10. Sinner
11. Rat Bat Blue

Explore eil.com & 991.com sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on RareVinyl.com
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to Vinyl-Wanted.com

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!