Martin Barre to release personal best of Jethro Tull

From Loudersound.

Former Jethro Tull guitarist Martin Barre celebrates his own 50th anniversary of being a member of Jethro Tull by announcing his own 50 Years Of Jethro Tull double CD release for November 6 through Store For Music.

This is album is a personal and revealing collection of both live and studio tracks, carefully chosen by Martin Barre himself, that he feels illustrates and illuminates his work with Tull over an incredible half century. The album will feature four bonus tracks, previously unavailable, these were recorded at The Wildey Theatre, Illinois, in May 2019.

“So… finally we have arrived at year number 50!,” says Barre. “Is it important? Yes, of course and it must be celebrated with due care and thought hence this double CD which showcases some of my favourite tracks, plus four bonus tracks. Personally…I’m looking forward to year 51 and beyond!! So, with a big nod to history, I will take my guitar on the road and continue my love affair! I hope you will join me! Thank you!”

Ian Anderson released a 50th anniversary celebration, 50 For 50, in 2018. Jethro Tull recently released a paperback version of their book The Ballad Of Jethro Tull last week.

Martin Barre

(Image credit: Martin Barre)

Martin Barre – 50 Years Of Jethro Tull
CD 1 – Live At Factory Underground
1. My Sunday Feeling
2. For A Thousand Mothers
3. Hymn 43
4. Love Story
5. Sealion
6. Song for Jeffrey
7. Back To The Family
8. Nothing To Say
9. Hunting Girl
10. Teacher
11. Steel Monkey
12. Nothing Is Easy
13. New Day Yesterday

CD 2 – Studio Tracks
1. Wond’ring Aloud
2. Someday The Sun Won’t Shine
3. Life Is A Long Song
4. Cheap Day Return
5. Under Wraps
6. One White Duck
7. Still Loving You Tonight
8. The Waking Edge
9. Home
10. Locomotive Breath
11. Slow Marching Band
12. Warchild (Bonus)
13. Bungle In The Jungle (Bonus)
14. Heavy Horses (Bonus)
15. Songs From The Wood (Bonus)

Explore & sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

EIL.COM Favourite Music Update Rare CDs, CD Singles, Rare Records, Vinyl Records, Albums and Music

  • Jethro Tull - Stormwatch - UK - vinyl LP - £15.00, $18.60, €17.10 (New Item) (arrived 24-Jan-2023 12:05)
    on January 28, 2023 at 7:20 pm

    JETHRO TULL Stormwatch (1979 UK 10-track LP, the third & final part of the band's 'folk trilogy', although some of the new leanings towards concise art-rock rear their head, complete with illustrated lyric inner, picture sleeve. The sleeve shows just a little light shelfwear and the vinyl looks barely played CDL1238)

  • Jethro Tull - Benefit - 2nd - EX - UK - vinyl LP - £30.00, $37.20, €34.20 (New Item) (arrived 11-Jan-2023 15:17)
    on January 28, 2023 at 7:20 pm

    JETHRO TULL Benefit (Rare 1970 UK second issue 10-track vinyl LP with smooth green Chrysalis labels, their third studio album which was also the first Tull album to include pianist and organist John Evan. This was one of only two issues of this album to carry the Island catalogue number & the 'i' on the green label, released before the pink rim Island label press. The matt finish pinched spine picture sleeve shows a little light shelfwear with a bit of edge scuffing and minor creasing, but remains free of any rips or tears & the vinyl remains in excellent condition with just a few light surface scuffs to show for nearly fifty years ILPS9123)

  • Jethro Tull - Aqualung - 1st - Complete - EX - UK - vinyl LP - £195.00, $241.80, €222.30 (New Item) (arrived 05-Jan-2023 13:30)
    on January 28, 2023 at 7:20 pm

    JETHRO TULL Aqualung (1971 UK first issue 11-track stereo LP on the green Chrysalis label with gothic script print, 'i' logo & Basing St address, complete with flipback lyric inner & heavy textured gatefold picture sleeve ILPS9145) See 'MoreInfo' for condition details...

  • Jethro Tull - Stand Up - UK - 3-disc CD/DVD Set - £49.99, $61.99, €56.99 (New Item) (arrived 06-Jan-2023 12:02)
    on January 28, 2023 at 7:20 pm

    JETHRO TULL Stand Up (2010 issue UK Collectors Edition 3-disc [2CD/1DVD] set - Originally released in 1969, 'Stand Up' was Jethro Tull's second album. This 3-disc set comprises a 21-track digitally remastered CD album expanded with their John Peel Top Gear sessions and two US radio spots; a Bonus 10-track CD containing an edited version of the 'Live at Carnegie Hall' concert; plus a Bonus DVD including the Carnegie Hall performance, but completely unedited andin 5.1 surround sound [audio only], and a brand new interview with Jethro Tull. Presented in deluxe edition complete with a replica pop-up element [as per the original LP issue]!)

  • Jethro Tull - 50 For 50 - Sealed - UK - 3-CD set - £18.99, $23.55, €21.65 (New Item) (arrived 06-Jan-2023 13:04)
    on January 28, 2023 at 7:20 pm

    JETHRO TULL 50 For 50 (2018 UK 50-track triple CD set - A career-spanning set that features fifty songs [chosen by Ian Anderson] from all 21 of their studio albums. Arranged chronologically, '50 For 50' provides a sweeping overview of Jethro Tull's rich and diverse catalogue highlighting the band's continuous musical evolution with blues-influenced early tracks [Beggar's Farm and A New Day Yesterday]; heavy rockers [Aqualung and Locomotive Breath]; prog classics [Skating Away and Critique Oblique] and folk tunes [Songs From The Wood and Heavy Horses]. Complete with its 24-page booklet, the thick-double jewel case remains factory sealed)

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!