Hear The Sword’s Riffy Doom Cover Of Kiss’ She

From Revolver.

Beloved by the likes of Metallica’s Lars Ulrich, Lamb of God’s Mark Morton and Clutch’s Neil Fallon, Austin’s the Sword are looking back on their celebrated 15-year career with not one but two career-spanning compilations, the CD package Chronology 2006 – 2018 and vinyl release Conquest of Kingdoms, which are both set to be released on June 5th and are available for pre-order now. Ahead of the big drop, the progressive stoner-doom band has offered up a rifftastic take on the KISS classic “She” that appears on both collections.

“The CD package will be more of a career retrospective with selections from each of our albums as well as the rarities and B-sides and things. Sort of a mini box set, you could say,” frontman J.D. Cronise commented of the dual comps. “The set will include a booklet with essays and photos, to make it special and extra. Whereas the LP release [Conquest of Kingdoms] is more streamlined, with just the B-side and rarities material. Personally for me, that’s what’s exciting about the releases. A lot of that stuff I never thought would see the light of day but I always thought was really cool and was proud of.”

Conquest of Kingdoms offers 30 tracks, including 16 previously unreleased cuts, and is housed in a triple-gatefold package, including B-sides, oddities and live recordings of fan favorites like “Freya,” “Iron Swan” and “Fire Lances of the Ancient Hyperzephyrians,” as well as cover versions of “Immigrant Song” (Led Zeppelin), “Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings” (ZZ Top), “Forever My Queen” (Pentagram) and more. A truncated digital version will also be available. In addition to the standard vinyl release, a limited-edition color variant (1,000 pressings worldwide) will also be available exclusively via TheSwordOfficial.com as well as independent retailers.

Chronology 2006–2018 is a three-disc CD compendium, which — in addition to the aforementioned rarities — includes the Sword’s greatest hits and fan favorites across 52 tracks (12 previously unreleased). The set also features expansive new liner notes with contributions from the band, plus the aforementioned Ulrich, Morton and Fallon.

Disc: 1

  1. The Horned Goddess (live) (previously unreleased)
  2. Barael’s Blade (live) (previously unreleased)
  3. Lament for the Aurochs (live) (previously unreleased)
  4. Iron Swan (live) (previously unreleased)
  5. The Sundering (live) (previously unreleased)
  6. Fire Lances of the Ancient Hyperzephyrians (live) (previously unreleased)
  7. The Black River (live) (previously unreleased)
  8. The White Sea (live) (previously unreleased)

Disc: 2

  1. Sea of Spears (live) (previously unreleased)
  2. Freya (live) (previously unreleased)
  3. Night City (live) (previously unreleased)
  4. The Chronomancer II: Nemesis (live)
  5. He’s Waiting (C Average Version)
  6. Sea of Spears
  7. Immigrant Song
  8. Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings
  9. Codex Corvidae
  10. Freya ’08 (previously unreleased)

Disc: 3

  1. Forever My Queen (previously unreleased)
  2. She (previously unreleased)
  3. Daughter of Dawn
  4. Farstar
  5. Cold Sweat
  6. Cheap Sunglasses
  7. Hammer of Heaven
  8. Hexenringe
  9. Seriously Mysterious (Level One Remix) (previously unreleased)
  10. John the Revelator
  11. Turnt to Dust (previously unreleased)
  12. Serpent Weather


Explore eil.com & 991.com sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.


Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!