Album Review: Rosalie Cunningham’s fantastic debut solo album

By Jean-Paul Cartwright

Being a fan mostly of all things rock and metal, finding something unique and different has always been a challenge, with so many sound alike acts around.

A few years ago I discovered a psych rock band call Purson, not my usual kind of music but I found the 60’s & 70’s retro sound refreshing, after releasing two albums, an EP and a few singles, sadly the band split.

Then to mark the 50th anniversary of The Beatles releasing Strawberry Fields forever, Rosalie Cunningham, the lead vocalist and band leader from Purson, recorded her tribute to the psychedelic classic, where she performs all of the instrumental parts with the exception of drums and percussion, which were played by her father, Mark Cunningham. Recorded during a break of her writing and recording solo material.

A few months later and she launched a PledgeMusic campaign which soon reached it goal, however after the company fell apart, it was cancelled, but luckily a record company came to her aid and the album release date was pushed back to the 26th July. Leading up to the release there were four singles released every Friday and an official music video for the opening track, Ride My Bike.

The first thing you notice from the first moment the music starts, is the fantastic heavy fuzz guitar sound, then the beautiful vocals comes in, almost akin to Kate Bush, although slightly deeper, but very English. This could be a tribute to Pink Floyd’s Bike, with a very psychedelic video featuring a big Teddy Bear, and with a heavy Beatles influence, which isn’t a bad thing at all, and makes for a great opening track.

The second song on the album, is so titled it will never get played on the radio.

Although it does have lyrics some might find offensive, the captivating vocalist sings about falling in love and how bad it can or could be. with fuzzy riffs a plenty.

This first song released to tease us just how the album will sound, is another fantastic example of song writing with fantastic lyrics set to outstanding music.

Another song that bends between the Beatles & Pink Floyd, but not in a bad way or in an attempt to copy either band.

The rest of the album is more of the same, which again isn’t a bad thing, with the epic closer, A Yarn From A Wheel, clocking in at over 13 minutes long, and sounds like many parts brought together to make a grand closure, something Freddie Mercury would have been very proud of doing.

I originally order through PledgeMusic and was gutted when it fell apart, but was happy to place an other once it came available, and was luck enough to get a copy of the CD and 180 Gram black vinyl, both signed on the cover.

I understand that this was recorded analog instead of digital, which helps with the grandeur of the sound, something modern day music lacks, with a richness to the production and layering which is sadly lacking in this digital age.

There is not a band song on the whole album, and the more you listen to it the better it becomes.

1. Ride On My Bike
2. Fuck Love
3. House of the Glass Red
4. Dethroning of the Party Queen
5. Nobody Hears
6. Riddles and Games
7. Butterflies
8. A Yarn From A Wheel

All songs written, produced and mixed by Rosalie, who also sang and played guitars, bass, keyboards and percussion, very talented indeed.

Explore & sister – the world’s best online store for rare, collectable & out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

Shop for these and other rare vinyl records on
Got vinyl records or a Record Collection to sell? Sell to

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!