Rival Sons release details of their new album

From Planet Rock.

Rival Sons have unveiled details of their sixth studio album ‘Feral Roots’.

Boasting 11 tracks, the record will be released on Friday 25th January 2019 via the band’s long-term producer Dave Cobb’s major label imprint Low Country Sound/Atlantic.

The follow-up to Jun 2016’s ‘Hollow Bones’ was recorded at Nashville’s famed RCA Studio A and the equally legendary Muscle Shoals Sound Studio in Muscle Shoals, Alabama.

After premiering the Planet Rock playlisted lead single ‘Do Your Worst’ in September, Rival Sons have unveiled another rip-roaring new song called ‘Back In The Woods’, which you can lend your lugholes to here:

Just like ‘Hollow Bones’ the artwork, the eye-catching ‘Feral Roots’ cover is the work of esteemed artist Martin Wittfooth.

Speaking about being signed to Atlantic Records, singer Scott Holiday told Planet Rock Magazine: “It’s kind of romantic to be at this big, legendary record label.

“And f*** all the rock n’ roll bands – if you want to get really romantic look at all the soul acts they signed, like Ray Charles and Aretha Franklin.

“We’re talking about the bedrock, soul and blues, some of the most important recordings in the history of the world.

“But I’m a pragmatic person. There’s a lot of work to be done. We’ve made five records and we’ve had some success, but hopefully signing to Atlantic we’re going to have a little more.”

The ‘Feral Roots’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Do Your Worst 
2. Sugar On The Bone 
3. Back In The Woods 
4. Look Away 
5. Feral Roots 
6. Too Bad 
7. Stood By Me 
8. Imperial Joy 
9. All Directions 
10. End Of Forever 
11. Shooting Stars

Following the release of ‘Feral Roots’, Rival Sons will head out on a six-date UK tour in late January and early February.

Newcastle Northumbria Institute – Thu 31st

Glasgow Barrowland – Fri 1st
Manchester Academy – Sat 2nd
Leeds O2 Academy – Mon 4th
Birmingham O2 Academy – Tue 5th
London The Roundhouse – Wed 6th – SOLD OUT

Explore eil.com… the world’s best online store for rare, collectable and out of print Vinyl Records, CDs & Music memorabilia since 1987.

Be the first to comment

We want your comments please!